Skip to content
The world's number one specialist guitar shop
Open 7 days a week!
instore and online

Ryan, Gary - Scenes From Brazil

In stock


Scenes from Brazil for Solo Guitar

by Gary Ryan

In his next solo guitar work, Scenes from Brazil (2004), Gary Ryan continues his exploration of the sound world of the guitar even further. It's defining central movement, Junglescape, uses new contemporary techniques for the instrument in such an imaginative and creative way that the listener is transported, via its evocative and vivid soundscape, to the delicate and fragile world of the rainforest. Ryan uses new guitar sounds to add a stunning programmatic element to the piece, captivating audiences by the magical beauty of the music. By contrast, the two outer movements of Scenes from Brazil, Sugarloaf Mountain and Rio Bay (from the Corcovado) portray the colourful and vibrant city of Rio de Janeiro. The samba-like rhythms of Sugarloaf Mountain and the lively bossa-nova section in Rio Bay perfectly balance the esoteric tones of the central movement.


Delivery charges within the UK

Delivery is free on orders over £25.00 within the mainland UK. A surcharge of £1.50 will be applied to orders under £25.

Orders received from the channel islands are free of VAT.

Delivery charges outside the UK

If not in the UK please contact us via email or by telephone on +44 207 493 1157 for delivery charges. We will not take payment from you until you have confirmed the order. We are here 7 days a week to answer any questions. Alternatively if using the secure checkout we will notify you automatically of the charges.


If you are not entirely happy with your goods you may return them for a refund or exchange by notifying us within seven days of delivery. This does not apply to overseas deliveries.

Your custom is very important to us and we wish to make your purchases as trouble free as possible. We take great care in the processing and dispatch of orders but if you are not entirely satisfied please let us know and we will do our utmost to assist you.

Also bought items

Hannabach Silver Special Set 815HT High Tension Hannabach Silver Special Set 815HT High Tension
21 in stock
Hannabach Silver Special 815HT High Tension Classical Guitar Strings Hannabach 815 is THE multi-purpose string that works great on almost any instrument, for every guitar player, in any style. It is suitable for all musician who pushes the limits of phonetic individuality of their instrument. It offers pristine sound quality and fulfils professional demands for playability, intonation and tuning s…
Ryan, Gary - City Scenes Ryan, Gary - City Scenes
8 in stock
City Scenes by Gary Ryan City Scenes (2005) is a wonderful three movement suite for solo guitar. Its two outer movements, Rush and Metropolis, depict the vibrance and energy of city life and contrast beautifully with the lyrical central movement, Birds Flew Over the Spire (depicting the classic English scene of swallows flying around a church spire in late summer). Rush opens in a vital five with…
Ryan, Gary - Scenes For Guitar 1 Ryan, Gary - Scenes For Guitar 1
6 in stock
Scenes for Guitar Book 1 by Gary Ryan A range of fabulous educational and concert guitar music by the UK's top guitar composers, educators and performers. A set of ten easy pieces from one of the most popular guitar composers in the world. These pieces bring Ryan's unique style of writing within the grasp of beginners and early grade students. Contents Barn Dance Black Stallion Caribbean Dance Hig…
Ryan, Gary - Scenes For Guitar 2 Ryan, Gary - Scenes For Guitar 2
5 in stock
Scenes for Guitar Book 2 by Gary Ryan Eight best-selling intermediate pieces for solo guitar. From the ‘more up-tempo’ to the ‘lyrical and reflective’, there is a piece here for everyone to enjoy playing. These popular pieces bring Ryan’s unique style of writing within the grasp of intermediate guitar students. Ryan has placed ‘useful technical and musical ideas into each one to help create a part…
Tansman, Alexandre - Twenty Five Pieces For Guitar Tansman, Alexandre - Twenty Five Pieces For Guitar
2 in stock
The Best of Alexandre Tansman in twenty-five pieces for guitar by Alexandre Tansman This volume includes a selection of some of the most famous pieces for guitar by the Polish Alexandre Tansman. The selection allows intermediate students to get to know the music of a composer who made his mark by freeing the guitar from the Latin-American cliché attributed to this instrument. The collection includ…


We are very sorry, but the browser you are visting us with is outdated and not complient with our website security.

Please upgrade your browser to a modern secure version to view our website.