Skip to content
The world's number one specialist guitar shop
Open 7 days a week!
instore and online

Rodrigo, Joaquin - The Best of Joaquin Rodrigo in 16 Pieces

In stock


The Best of Joaquin Rodrigo In 16 Pieces

by Joaquin Rodrigo

Joaquín Rodrigo composed works in virtually every genre, from opera to vocal music to chamber music, much of it for solo voices or instruments. Although his works for and with guitar are certainly among the most recognized and performed of his oeuvre, the attention of most players is usually focused on only two or three titles. In addition, there is insufficient scholarly research on Rodrigo's music, and even in performance it has often been forced to suffer a superficial interpretation that tends to ignore the cultural stratification of his compositional process in favour of the music's purely coloristic and virtuosic elements. Rodrigo's works for solo guitar (twenty-three titles including three sonatas) span nearly his entire career, extending from his Sarabanda lejana (a la vihuela de Luis de Milán) in 1926 to Dos pequeñas fantasias (Ecos de Safarad and ¡Qué buen caminito! ) in 1987. The present anthology consists of a selection of Rodrigo's principal solo guitar works, presented in chronological order.


Zarabanda lejana (1926)

Toccata (1933)

Por los campos de España (1938 -1960)

En los Trigales - Bajando de la Meseta - Entre Olivares - En tierrez de Jerez

Tres Piezas Españolas (1954) [Fandango – Passacaglia- Zapateado]

Sonata giocosa (1959) [Allegro moderato-Andante moderato-Allegro]

Invocación y danza (1962)

Tres Pequenas piezas (1963) [Ya se van los pastores - Por caminos de Santiago - Pequeña sevillana]

Pajaros de primavera (1972)

Aranjuez ma passion, extract from the Adagio of Concierto de Aranjuez (version J.Rodrigo 1988)

Revised by Frederic Zigante

Published by Ricordi


Delivery charges within the UK

Delivery is free on orders over £25.00 within the mainland UK. A surcharge of £1.50 will be applied to orders under £25.

Orders received from the channel islands are free of VAT.

Delivery charges outside the UK

If not in the UK please contact us via email or by telephone on +44 207 493 1157 for delivery charges. We will not take payment from you until you have confirmed the order. We are here 7 days a week to answer any questions. Alternatively if using the secure checkout we will notify you automatically of the charges.


If you are not entirely happy with your goods you may return them for a refund or exchange by notifying us within seven days of delivery. This does not apply to overseas deliveries.

Your custom is very important to us and we wish to make your purchases as trouble free as possible. We take great care in the processing and dispatch of orders but if you are not entirely satisfied please let us know and we will do our utmost to assist you.

Also bought items

Torroba, Federico - Sonatina Torroba, Federico - Sonatina
4 in stock
Sonatina (New Edition) by Federico Moreno Torroba Fingered by Andres Segovia Published by Columbia Music Company


We are very sorry, but the browser you are visting us with is outdated and not complient with our website security.

Please upgrade your browser to a modern secure version to view our website.