Skip to content
The world's number one specialist guitar shop
Open 7 days a week!
instore and online

Coste, Napoleon - Selected Works For Guitar

In stock


Napoleon Coste: Selected Works For Guitar

Edited and Fingered by Jeffry McFadden

Classical guitarists---both students and professional performers---require the same high-quality editions that their pianist colleagues have come to expect from Alfred Music. Our Classical Guitar Masterworks Editions continue the Alfred Music tradition of providing carefully edited, beautifully presented music for practice and performance.

French guitarist and composer Napoléon Coste's best-loved concert works have been expertly collected here. In this edition, editor and acclaimed classical guitarist Jeffrey McFadden, a leading proponent of Coste's repertoire, looks between the lines to see exactly what the composer intended, ultimately making Coste's intentions explicit and clear for the modern performer. Coste was a great melodist who had full command of the rich harmonic palate of the mid-to-late 19th century. Perhaps most importantly, Coste had a powerful guitaristic intuition and a deep understanding of the guitar fretboard, which he used with great creativity in crafting concert music. This performance edition of Coste's works aims to provide the performer with fully fingered, easy-to-read scores, demonstrating not only how charming these pieces are for audiences but also how enjoyable they are to play for the accomplished guitarist!


Life and Works

Technical and Style Notes

Notes on the Pieces

A Note from the Publisher

Divertissement sur Lucia di Lammermoor, Op. 9

Rondeau de Concert, Op. 12

Le Départ: Fantasie dramatique, Op. 31

Les Soirées d'Auteuil, Op. 23

Deuxième Polonaise, Op. 14

Fantaisie sur deux motifs de La Norma, Op. 16

La Cachucha, Op. 13

Les Cloches, Op. 21

Andante et Menuet, Op. 39

Souvenir de Jura: Andante et Polonaise, Op. 44

La Source du Lyson: Fantaisie, Op. 47


Delivery charges within the UK

Delivery is free on orders over £25.00 within the mainland UK. A surcharge of £1.50 will be applied to orders under £25.

Orders received from the channel islands are free of VAT.

Delivery charges outside the UK

If not in the UK please contact us via email or by telephone on +44 207 493 1157 for delivery charges. We will not take payment from you until you have confirmed the order. We are here 7 days a week to answer any questions. Alternatively if using the secure checkout we will notify you automatically of the charges.


If you are not entirely happy with your goods you may return them for a refund or exchange by notifying us within seven days of delivery. This does not apply to overseas deliveries.

Your custom is very important to us and we wish to make your purchases as trouble free as possible. We take great care in the processing and dispatch of orders but if you are not entirely satisfied please let us know and we will do our utmost to assist you.

Also bought items

Weiss, Silvius Leopold - Anthology Of Selected Pieces Weiss, Silvius Leopold - Anthology Of Selected Pieces
3 in stock
Anthology Of Selected Pieces For Guitar by Silvius Leopold Weiss Edition Burley An anthology of selected pieces by Weiss for guitar, transcribed by Raymond Burley. ABRSM Guitar Syllabus Grades 7 and 8. Published By Schott


We are very sorry, but the browser you are visting us with is outdated and not complient with our website security.

Please upgrade your browser to a modern secure version to view our website.